Print & Pixel News – Week of 8/11

Print & Pixel News

Welcome to the first Print & Pixel News post. I thought it would be nice to gather up some of the more interesting bits of news from the week and share here with you. This could entail game sales to highlighting really interesting blog posts from other bloggers. I wanted to try something new and see how it goes.


 

New Exclusive Joy-Cons Coming in October

Green Joy Con

Best Buy posted a listing for a pair of Green Joy-Con this week, and it appears to be exclusive! Previously you could only get two green joy-con if you purchased the Pink & Green set from the US and the set from Japan, so this is a great addition. These will release on October 28th, but are up for pre-order here. (Green Joy-Con – Best Buy) These come a few weeks after the new colors are set to release (Purple/Orange & Blue/Neon Yellow)

Broken Earth Trilogy Gets a Tabletop RPG

The Fifth Season

Source – Green Ronin

Green Ronin, a tabletop RPG company, has announced that they have plans to release a RPG based on N.K. Jemisin’s Broken Earth trilogy! It doesn’t have a set released date yet, but it’s set for Fall 2020. This is the same company that has published games for the Dragon Age series as well as the Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) series. You can see the full blog post here  – Green Ronin Announcement

Anthem Lead Producer Leaves Bioware

anthem

Source – IGN

Ben Irving, the lead producer on Anthem, announced this week that after eight years with Bioware he is leaving the company to seek an opportunity at another game company.

THQ Nordic

THQNordic

Source – Polygon

A lot of news out THQ Nordic this week! The next Saints Row game is in ‘deep development’ with Volition. A new Timesplitters game may be in the works as well, and co-creator Steve Ellis has joined the team to “help plot the course for this franchise”. Dambuster Studios is now in charge of the Dead Island series. THQ Nordic has also acquired: Milestone, Gunfire Games, and Goodbye Kansas Game Invest.

Amazon Cannot Use Much of Tolkien’s Work for Series

The Fellowship of the Ring

Source – The Guardian

It has been released that Amazon has been denied the rights much of the core Lord of the Rings series. Tolkien expert, Tom Shippey, who is in charge of the show’s development has stated that the Tolkien Estate has refused to allow Amazon to set the new series in any period other than the Second Age. For reference, The Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit take place in the Third Age. So it is pretty safe to assume there will be no plot cross over happening. There is still plenty of lore to be had in the Second Age including a large section surrounding Nuemanor, Sauron, and more.

Barack Obama has released his Summer Reading List

Nickel Boys

Source – Facebook : Barack Obama

Former President Barack Obama has released his annual Summer Reading List! It includes authors Toni Morrison, Colson Whitehead, Haruki Murakami, and more! Definitely a list worth checking out if you’re looking for some recommendations for the remaining weeks of Summer. You can check out his post here for the full list – Offical Facebook Page of Barack Obama.

New Releases

Grandia HD Collection – Nintendo Switch – 8/16

Blood Truth by J.R. Ward  – 8/13

 

 

Image | Posted on by | Tagged | 2 Comments

Book Review: Planet Earth is Blue by Nicole Panteleakos

book review

Planet Earth is Blue

Source: Publisher – I received this in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.
Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books
Series:
Edition: Hardcover, 240 Pages
Genre: Children’s/Middle Grade Contemporary
Purchase: Amazon / Barnes & Noble
Rating: 5/5 Stars

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger–it’s the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home.

While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can’t express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova’s new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she’s counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she’ll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, “No matter what, I’ll be there. I promise.”

Planet Earth is Blue is one of those books where I knew as soon as I saw the cover it was one I needed to read, and when I read the blurb on the inside cover I also knew it was a book that would make me cry.

Planet Earth is Blue centers around a 12-year-old girl named Nova, who is autistic and nonverbal. She is in foster care and without her older sister for the first time since being placed into the system, and all her hopes are riding on being able to watch the Challenger launch with her sister by her side.

This turned out to be such an important and careful narrative. We have so much here that needs to be discussed and Nova’s character creating a momentary glimpse into what her world is like. I personally don’t think I have read a book with a nonverbal main character, and while I have had the basic understanding of what autism entails this book brought so much more to the forefront. It also shines a light on the foster care system and diagnosis of autism in the 1980s, where misconceptions and blind eyes were more present than not. We get to know Nova through two different narratives, the first is the general story where we are moving forward as she gets to know her new foster family and school and the second in a set of letters to her older sister Bridget which serve to show her true voice. I truly love Nova. She has such a passion for space exploration, and watching her grow in her new environment was so wonderful.

It also focuses on grief and loss in a way that was unexpected, but all too relatable. Loss is something that kids can sometimes not fully grasp, it’s too large a feeling and too alien to really handle it in a way where full understanding is there all at once. And some times we/they learn what it really means from those events that forever imprint themselves into your life. For Nova it’s the Challenger, for me it was 9/11 and Columbia. I never expected to read a book that managed to come close to that overwhelming, crushing understanding of loss; and as a result, I spent quite a lot of time after reading this crying.

Words can not express how much I truly love this book, and I don’t think I am capable of typing a review that fully expresses how much I want others to read it, but believe me when I say that this is one to read. I recommend it a hundred times over.

5 stars

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments