Audiobook Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants

Source: Borrowed
Publisher: Random House Audio
Series: The Themia Files #1
Narrator: Andy Secombe, Eric Meyers, Laurel Leflow, Charlie Anson, Liza Ross, William Hope, Christopher Ragland, Katherine Mangold, Adna Sablyich
Edition: Audiobook, 8 Hours 28 Minutes
Genre: Science Fiction
Purchase: Amazon / Audible / Barnes & Noble
Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a literary thriller fueled by a quest for truth – and a fight for control of earthshaking power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved – its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery – and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Sleeping Giants is an epistolary novel that focuses on the mysterious discovery of large metal body parts hidden all over the world and the team assembled to uncover it’s secrets. This is the book that started my work time audio binges, and now I can barely focus without a good book to listen to.

I didn’t know a lot about this novel going into it, and I definitely didn’t realize it was an epistolary novel or I might have grabbed the actual print copy first, however I’m actually glad I didn’t because it turned out to be such an addicting listen that I blazed through it in a single day. For those that don’t know an epistolary novel is written as a series of documents like emails or security write-ups on video footage, and I think that the format really worked well for this story. It really adds to the suspense because it limits the amount of information you receive, and really works the time periods between each entry to its advantage. To top it off it is told from the point of view of a narrator that remains unnamed and has a very important role to play despite not offering any information on who he is or how he has been positioned in the place of power that he has. As the narrator learns more, so do we…and by the end of the book, there are so many bombshells that it left me reeling.

The story itself is a ton of fun as well, I mean who doesn’t like the idea of finding a giant mysterious object that might be from a civilization lost to time or completely alien? The plot is full of surprising little twists that turn a expect discovery into something that asks ‘just how far are we willing to go?’. We have a handful of characters (who are named) that play a variety of roles.My favorite though is Kara Resnik. She’s brash and bold and becomes the programs unassigned protector. She is fully on board with going as far as she needs to, to see the project complete but she doesn’t ask that anyone else do the same. I love how unapologetic she is even though it sometimes gets her into trouble.

Sleeping giants is definitely a contender for my favorite sci-fi book this year! I found it to be one of the most addicting audiobooks I’ve ever listened to, and with all of its twists and turns, I have no idea where the second book will truly lead which is rather exciting!

4.5 Stars

 

Image | This entry was posted in Book Reviews (2017) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Audiobook Review: Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

  1. I have the first two books to read. I’m happy you liked it because the reviews have been booth extremes it seems. ☺

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed it, leave a comment and tell me what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s